bitsspeedsite.blogg.se

Dragon for mac 4 review
Dragon for mac 4 review










dragon for mac 4 review
  1. Dragon for mac 4 review how to#
  2. Dragon for mac 4 review full#
  3. Dragon for mac 4 review software#
  4. Dragon for mac 4 review Pc#

There was a minor issue in that the document is a Pages file and Dragon doesn’t recognize that format for this particular function, so I saved a copy as a Word document (other than that, it played nicely with Pages). Next, I chose the manuscript I was working on and had Dragon scan it for vocabulary. So far, so good and only twenty minutes invested. However, once I’d adjusted the microphone properly, reading through the prompted scripts progressed quickly and accurately.

dragon for mac 4 review

Dragon for mac 4 review software#

I’m more or less the opposite of a polished public speaker, so I had my doubts about how well the software would pick up on my nattering away. Note: I later tested this theory with the word “about” and it was never interpreted as “a boot,” so that must have been the correct choice. I chose “American – Inland Northern,” which I am guessing is the closest thing to someone living in Ontario, Canada. Interestingly, you can choose from a list of regional accents to improve on accuracy. Installation is quick and painless, but once the software is installed, there is a configuration process where the Dragon software is “trained” to recognize your voice and the vocabulary of your documents. For someone with eyesight impairment or fine motor control challenges, I can imagine such functionality would be welcome and based on my experience with the dictation aspect and other reviews I’ve read, I have no doubt that the software is up to the task-so long as you are up to memorizing a sizable collection of voice commands. Dragon is capable of making your computer completely voice controlled, but I didn’t get into that aspect of it. My objective was to test the software as a dictation tool, using Apple’s Pages, which is my primary writing platform. I found being tethered really didn’t bother me. Bluetooth versions are supported (and available as part of the package) for the wirelessly inclined. The software works with a variety of approved headsets, although the version that I tested included a Plantronics USB microphone.

dragon for mac 4 review

I decided that now was the perfect time to take Dragon Dictate 2.0 for Mac for a spin.ĭragon Dictate doesn’t have particularly heavy system requirements, just an Intel based Mac running OSX 10.6 (Snow Leopard) I installed it on a three year old iMac with 4 GB of RAM and it ran perfectly.

Dragon for mac 4 review Pc#

I haven’t had much experience with speech recognition software, but my father-in-law has sworn by Dragon on the PC for years, and Christopher Null had some good things to say about Nuance’s Dragon Naturally Speaking. It may be entertaining to watch, but it works… I was starting on a book late last year and began wondering if there was a way to cut down on the typing-related wear and tear, as well as a way to possibly go a little faster if I’m going to hit one million words this year I need to either work on my technique, hire a typist or stay on the keyboards for twice as long and hope carpal tunnel doesn’t come knocking.

Dragon for mac 4 review how to#

I never learned how to type properly, but I can move along at a pretty quick pace pecking away using a few fingers and thumbs in a style that makes trained typists cringe. Primarily three different keyboards, in my case. The common element in all of these words has been a keyboard. A quick look at the output from last year comes in at over 500,000 words in paid content and that doesn’t count rough drafts, countless e-mails, pitches, notes and casual writing.

dragon for mac 4 review

Dragon for mac 4 review full#

I’ve been writing quite a bit in recent years, especially in the past two years as I’ve transitioned from part time to full time writing.












Dragon for mac 4 review